To Hell With Tradition, Mother’s day lunch…a day late at Roux at The Landau

My brother, sister and I treated my mother today, by venturing down the end of Regent Street, being home to a stunning heigh ceilinged dining room;  Roux at the Landau.  The interior design beautifully combines features fit for it’s high end diners (so we felt it perfect for mother, who adores the finer things in life!)   The entrance to the restaurant is framed gloriously with a floor to ceiling wine cabinet, embellished with dense,gold handles.  This lured us into the main restaurant where we were seated beneath impressive architecture; heavy dark arches.  The room could be described as perfect, emphasised by the mass of sun booming through the vintage  bay windows, highlighting the details of  intricate furnishings and architecture; leather, metals, chandeliers, exquisite cutlery and the fresh table-roses.  The layout being circular creates a sense of unity, (without being intimidating) as there is still room for  breathing space.  The staff make one feel extremely welcome, being polite, considerate,and particularly smiley  (there is nothing worse than a sour-grape server in my opinion!)

To accompany the Prosecco, I ordered a bitter green salad, which was an interesting choice, fusing  a range of natural fresh flavours with the bite of sharp cheeses.  I was pleased with my choice, proving quite light, in contrast to my main of sirloin steak.  My beef was a triumph, perfect-pink, tender, moist and heaped with flavour.  The accompanying sides of garnished vegetables were the perfect combination, with a dash of hollandaise and the best amount of gravy.  I didn’t order a dessert, but I found myself getting cheese-envy when my brother’s option arrived; a selection of the finest cheeses, accompanied by  melba toast, traditional chutney, looking even more appetising on the vintage serving tray with beautifully illustrated labels.  Sorry for not mentioning what they others ate, but when it comes to food I just anticipate it, concentrate on it and devour it.  However, I take it from my self- confessed ‘squiffy’ mother that she had a good time.  She is still going on about her hand made ice cream (I think that says success!)  A place well worth a trip if you want to spoil someone, especially for lunch as the sun really benefits this spectacular venue.

Leave a Reply

